Innovation’s Seven Deadly Sins

Innovation – something different that has impact – is both more important and more accessible than ever before

          Scott D. Anthony, The Little Black Book of Innovation

Something different that has impact.

This simple definition of innovation by author Scott Anthony belies the deep and resonating ideas in The Little Black Book of Innovation. From this simple definition, Anthony breaks down the essential differences between various types of innovation and illuminates its vital role in organizational success and personal growth.

What better way to introduce the topic to ChurchWorld leaders than start off with a list of Innovation’s Seven Deadly Sins:

  • Pride – forcing your view of quality onto your audience; often results in overshooting
  • Sloth – having innovation efforts slow to a crawl
  • Gluttony – suffering from the curse of abundance; leads to overly lows, overly linear innovation efforts
  • Lust – getting distracted by pursuing too many “Bright, shiny objects”
  • Envy – creating an us-versus-them relationship between the core and new growth efforts
  • Wrath – punishing risk takers severely
  • Greed – impatience for growth; leads to prioritizing low-potential markets

Tomorrow: How to Avoid the Seven Deadly Sins


One thought on “Innovation’s Seven Deadly Sins

  1. Pingback: How to Avoid Innovation’s Seven Deadly Sins « 27gen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s